Skip to content



The Human Services Network is proud to announce that the 31st Annual Human Services Awards will be held in the Capri Grand Ballroom at the Peppermill Resort and Casino on Thursday, January 9, 2020 from 8:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m.

If the past awards are any indication, a veritable who’s who of the health and human services providers will fill the room with smiling faces and open hearts. This year’s event supporters will be announced shortly.

Nominations for the 31st Annual Human Services Awards have been closed.

Tickets may be purchased online here.


31st Award Winners:

Mike O’Callaghan Humanitarian of the Year: Joanne Everts, Ph.D. (retired) – advocate for early childhood education in Nevada

Agency of the Year: Mallory Behavioral Health Crisis Center

HSN Impact Award: Sean McCoy, Law Clerk to the Honorable Cynthia Lu, Second Judicial District Court 

Administrator of the Year: JD Klippenstein, ACTIONN

Staff Member of the Year: Ivy Spadone, Northern Nevada HOPES

Student Volunteer of the Year: Nicola Goldstein, University of Nevada, Reno, Class of 2021

Media Representative of the Year: Anjeanette Damon, Reno Gazette-Journal and Season 2 of The City podcast

Board Member of the Year: Mike Russell, Children’s Cabinet


30th Annual Awardees:

Student Volunteer of the Year: Bailee Barber, Western Nevada College

Media Representative of the Year: Michelle Rindels, The Nevada Independent

Media Representative of the Year: Megan Messerly, The Nevada Independent

Politician of the Year: Amber Joiner, Nevada State Assembly

Board Member of the Year: Rick Greenthal, Big Brothers Big Sisters of Northern Nevada

Staff Member of the Year: Tracey Rodriguez, Community Health Alliance

Administrator of the Year: Edrie LaVoie, Lyon County Human Services

Agency of the Year: Stacie Mathewson Behavioral Health and Addiction Institute at Renown

Special Recognition Award: Noble Studios, Noble Deeds Program

Mike O’Callaghan Humanitarian Award: Jeremy Bosler, Washoe County Public Defender

HSN People Holding Hands